

METRO WEST DISTRICT

Metro West Swimming Victoria Incorporated

ABN: 92 118 401 054 INCORPORATION NO: A0007742J

MINUTES OF THE DELEGATES MEETING

Maribyrnong Aquatic Centre, Aquatic Drive, Maribyrnong On Wednesday 13th February at 7.00pm

Attendees: Cam Nation (President / NWA), Seb Bettiol (Secretary / PROP), Jamie Taafe (Vice-President / SUN), Janine Boyton (Treasurer / SSC), Julie Walsh (Competitions Officer / MLN), Ros Jones (MLN), Vince Taylor (WAQA)

Apologies: Margaret Arnold (District Referee / LVN), Bill Watson (Life Member / AQW), Andrea Sutton (Life Member / AQW), Maureen Harris (AQW), Justin Gallop (HOP), Natalie Lemieszek (WYN), Jenny Lawton (EDA), Karen Garrard (LVN)

1. Meeting Open, Attendees & Apologies

The Delegates Meeting on Wednesday 13th February was opened at 7.10pm by Chair Cam Nation.

Attendees & Apologies noted as per above.

Current list of Metro West Delegates for Season 2018-19:

Altona:	Hoppers Crossing: Justin Gallop	Sunbury:
Aqua Wolves: Maureen Harris	Hume City:	Sunshine: Jamie Taafe
Artemis Aquatics:	Laverton: Karen Garrard	Swimland: Janine Boyton
Brimbank:	Melb Uni Prop: Seb Bettiol	Western Aquatic: Vince Taylor
Essendon District:	Melton: Ros Jones	Wyndham: Natalie Lemieszek
Footscray:	North-West Aquatic: Cam Nation	

2. Conflicts & Legal Documents

Nil.

3. Previous Minutes

To be tabled at next meeting.

4. Matters Arising From Previous Minutes

Nil.

5. Correspondence from Swimming Australia or Swimming Victoria

Swimming Victoria correspondence regarding outcome of proposed changes to district borders, as attached as Appendix A.

6. President's Report

No report tabled.

7. Treasurer's Report

No report tabled.

8. Competitions Officer's Report

No report tabled.

9. District Referee's Report

No report tabled.

10. General Business

- 10.1 Discussion regarding Swimming Victoria's decision not to proceed with metropolitan district re-structure.
- 10.2 Discussion regarding the transition to Swim Central, potential new membership costs & requirements of clubs for Season 2018-19.
- 10.3 Noted the return of Yarraville to the district, their financial status, and acceptance to compete at District Championships.
- 10.4 Discussion regarding District Squad or District Trip, deferred to a presentation at next meeting.
- 10.5 Flagging of potential changes to the constitution due to new Swim Central, as well as clarification on Executive, Delegates & previous AGM Quorum issues. To be discussed at future meetings.

All items moved: Cam Nation All items seconded: Seb Bettiol

CARRIED

11. Meeting Close

The Chair closed the meeting at 8.15pm.

APPENDIX A

PAGE 1 OF 2



Metro West PO Box 53 Essendon, VIC, 3040

C/o: President - Cam Nation

February 4, 2019

Dear Metro West,

RE: District Borders Update

After reviewing the feedback supplied by the Clubs and Districts, Swimming Victoria's Board has confirmed the following changes will be made to the District Borders, effective upon transitioning into Swim Central in April 2019. *Note: The remaining 18/19 interdistrict competitions will executed under the current By-laws.*

The following clauses will also be added to the By-Laws (effective April 2019):

- New Clubs or Clubs which change their Headquarters pool will be assigned to the Districts according Schedule A.
- Clubs registered with Swimming Victoria as of January 2019, will remain in their previously assigned Districts.

Summary of Changes effective April 2019:

District/Shire/City	Change	
District 10 (Sunraysia)	The municipalities and clubs in this District be assigned to D15. D10	
	will not exist as a Swimming Victoria District as of April 2019.	
D14 (North Central)	The municipalities and clubs in this District be assigned to D15. D14	
	has not existed as a Swimming Victoria District since July 2018.	
Ararat Shire (D12 and	This municipality will be updated to its modern name of Ararat Rural	
D23 in current By-laws)	City and as it is duplicated in the current by-laws it will be removed it	
	from the D23 list.	
Donald Shire (D12 –	This municipality doesn't formally exist anymore and thus will be	
Wimmera)	removed from the by-laws.	
St Arnaud Shire (D12 -	This municipality doesn't formally exist anymore and thus will be	
Wimmera)	removed from the by-laws.	

APPENDIX A

PAGE 2 OF 2



This municipality doesn't formally exist anymore and thus will be
removed from the by-laws.
This municipality doesn't formally exist anymore and thus will be
removed from the by-laws.
This municipality will be updated to its modern name of Greater
Bendigo City.
This municipality will be updated to its modern name of Wodonga City.
This municipality doesn't formally exist anymore and thus will be
removed from the by-laws.
This municipality is duplicated in the current by-laws. It will be
removed from D23.
This municipality will be updated to its modern name of Warrnambool
City.
This municipality is currently not in the By-Laws, it will be added and
included under D23 – BSW.
This municipality is currently not in the By-Laws, it will be added and
included under D23 – BSW.

If you have any questions regarding the changes, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Q2

Jacqueline Tubb Membership Services Manager Swimming Victoria